abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Santa Monica

On Monday, I spent a couple hours on the beach in Santa Monica. It was lovely, absolutely lovely. (I can't think of a better word, or I would use it). On the beach it was a gentle 78 degrees, the waves were hypnotizing, gulls waddling around, and a few quiet people scattered here and there. I had an umbrella, towel, beach chair, and book. I read and napped and left around 1 pm. I may have a new program � go to HB�s Sunday afternoon, stay overnight, then go to the beach on Monday morning. That is one way to beat the heat.

Because, hot it was. 110 degrees or so, which always brings thoughts of why the hell do I live here. My skin itches from the dryness (the itch went away on the beach in Santa Monica). The sun hurts in this heat (whereas it gently caressed in Santa Monica). But, as would be expected, the cost of living is twice as high in Santa Monica, and it is much more crowded. So I s'pose I'll just be visiting for now.

Here in Palm Springs, also a lovely place for about 8 months of the year, I have a good job and own a house - so will buck up and deal with it. I keep the house cool with indoor and outdoor blinds, central air, and tile floors. I often just jump into the pool for no reason. Nelly plays with the neighbor dog in a shaded backyard, which spares me walking in the heat. I spend most of my daytime hours in an air-conditioned building. And, the nights and mornings are nice in a desert kind of way - nothing like walking in shorts and a tank top at 6 am.

Perhaps we all dream of living in a Nirvana-like place before we die, but maybe that is truly reserved for the hereafter. Or, with the right vision, you could see that it is all perfect no matter where you are. In the meantime, I�ll try to bloom (or at least not wither) where I am planted.

9:44 p.m. - 2008-05-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo