abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short Takes

Heaven

This morning is a filtered sun day with gentle raindrops on the pool, and a rainbow arching over palm trees towards the fog-covered mountains. Wind chimes sound an occasional heavenly note, and birdsong fills the air. I�m typing in front of open windows with a cool breeze wafting in, smelling like rain and fresh cut grass.

Why do I persist in considering this a quasi-temporary home? Oh, yes, the summers are unbearable. I envy the snowbirds who leave on Memorial Day and get the best of both worlds � Oregon summers and Palm Springs winters. Right now it is absolutely sublime.

Book Club

Friday night I hosted the Desert Animal Hospital (DAH) Book Club. There were 12 of us at the planning meeting in December to decide on a book, but only 5 showed up at the follow-up meeting (they had read the assigned book , The Kite Runner). I made a mountain of Hashwi in honor of Middle Eastern cuisine. Our discussion touched on the book, but also included pretty pussies, and corporal punishment.

Sex Stuff

The high point of the weekend was a �Slumber Party� on Saturday night, a kind of Tupperware party for sex supplies. A large Samoan woman presented a variety of sexual aids, including �Anal Ease�, �Bosom Buddy� and �Ex-Scream�, while discussing topics like the 5 types of orgasm and how to achieve greater clitoral stimulation. At one point we stood in a circle and passed a two headed floppy rubber penis from one person to another between our legs, much like an x-rated hot potato or musical chairs.

Not only did I marvel at the products available, but also at the demographics in the room. It was 30 minutes away in the high desert, with a large population of military and hermits. We sat crowded in a cluttered living room and women smoked with impunity. Many of the them looked like they had been ridden hard, with bad teeth and bellies hanging over tight jeans, drinking straight vodka and tequila. Coming from Palm Springs, the land of la-te-da, it felt like I had entered an the alternate universe.

Neighborly

My neighbor Rich said he would be �devastated� if I wasn�t his neighbor. Yes he is gay and tends to use much more dramatic language, but he is a great neighbor and I think Nelly would, in fact, be devastated without his dog Wizer. They had a play date tonight and I drank wine and he drank Orange Crush and we ate Hashwi and Hummus and talked about life, love, and how his alarm went off last night. Many times I have questioned my decision to become destitute in buying a house along an earthquake fault, but having him as a neighbor is priceless.

Vet Stress

I am in the midst of a crisis of confidence. Lately my patients aren�t better within 24 hours, which has previously been the norm. It has been extremely busy at work, with multiple difficult cases in a day and none of them get the time and thought that I want to provide. The stress is almost unbearable. I dream of work, wake up thinking about cases I don�t have, and even have cases on my mind in yoga. At times, I feel like I didn't spend 5 years learning this stuff, and wish I'd done an internship to help me feel more prepared.

HB Maybe

So, I am going to try it his way without future-think, and he is going to try to be more open and less guarded. If he feels less pressure, maybe that will work for him, but I suspect I can�t do it. At least by trying I will know for sure. He has been calling more often, and I have been not as available, so perhaps a balance can be reached. We took a break for this past weekend, but will reconnect the next (hopefully with products purchased at the party). Regardless of what happens, he is a sweet and funny man.

Downed Tree

As I finish this up on Monday, the sound of a chainsaw fills the air. The neighbor behind me is having a 60+ foot tree removed because it makes a mess of his yard and pool. It also makes a mess of my pool, and blocks my view of the mountains - but I love it and feel very sad. In the summer, it provides a much-needed respite from the afternoon sun, and has such delicate wispy leaves. Each thunk of the trunk on the ground is heartbreaking. I need to go.

8:00 p.m. - 2008-02-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo