abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rose Day

�If the Rose Bowl needed to update its marketing materials, today provided the perfect opportunity to capture some beauty shots. Not a cloud dotted the light blue sky, and fans soaked in the sunshine and light breeze on a 70-degree New Year�s afternoon in Southern California. With mountains and palm trees framing the stadium, the scene fit every image that comes to mind when one thinks of the Rose Bowl�. Detroit Free Press 1/1/07

This morning I watched the Rose Parade from the comfort of my home, after a 10 hour sleep. I had planned to wake at 4:30 am and head to Pasadena, but am fighting the sore throat that has been going around. So, I sorted through a mountain of papers and bills and got organized as the floats went by on TV. When I was a child, my dad and I would wake up at around 5:30 am, drive his little corvette to Pasadena, park on a side street, and walk to the parade route. I still have the stepladder I would stand on to see over the crowd. It was a happy memory, the bright floats, the loud bands, and the horses (which were my favorite part and aren�t shown much on TV). As a teenager, I once went with a girlfriend the night before the parade - spent New Years Eve sleeping along the curb to get a good view. We were in the party zone, but on the �pre-parade� route and the floats went by while we slept. We did manage to grab a couple guys walking down the street at midnight for a kiss, and woke up with them the next morning. It was the 70�s in California, and that was �normal� but awkward.

I just learned that the parade was initially established in the 1800�s, with flowers on the floats to induce people from the east coast to come out to California. And it worked, because reportedly many people have come after watching the parade on TV. It does look pretty glitzy with palm trees and blue skies and beautiful people.

Here in Palm Springs, 90 minutes away, it was a typical 75 degree blue sky day. It was especially breathtaking when I took Nelly for her afternoon walk after the sun went down behind Mt. San Jacinto. A full moon was rising over the western brown hills that were still lit up with daylight, and coyotes were yipping in the distance. It felt stark and lovely and untamed and I couldn�t imagine being anywhere else in the world. Right now is prime season here, for good reason, and �life is good�.

Wishing you many �life is good� moments this coming year.

Except for Wolverines.

6:33 p.m. - 2007-01-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo