abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Heat and Happiness

Things are starting to heat up here in the California desert . It is 95 degrees in the shade, 15% humidity, and, surprise, I love it. So far, my condo stays fairly cool (around 78) with minimal air conditioning. It is very comfortable to take a dip in the pool, air dry in the sun for about 10 minutes, and then wear a damp suit around the house, walking barefoot on the tile floors. It feels like I'm on vacation without going anywhere - oh yeah, people come here for vacation :) - even took a long nap this afternoon.

Friday night I went out to illegally feed the flightless ducks and the white one was missing. I thought �shit, my wacko landlord is going to go ballistic�. Turns out she had come over that day and captured Maynard, her favorite duck, put him/her in her light blue BMW (where it pooped all over), and took him/her to a more welcoming larger pond. Huge relief. No more phone calls or e:mails from her asking about him. Unfortunately, there are a pair of regular mallards that hang out at the swimming pool. They have their own ponds, so I try to shoo them away. There was a Sopranos show where Tony Soprano got all philosophical when ducks (or geese?) started hanging out at his pool, but I�m not there. I like a poop-free pool.

Saturday morning the mountains disappeared. Optical illusion � some LA smog escaped through Morango Pass and settled here. It was disorienting to have them gone, they are such a huge presence. Plus, I couldn�t bear to think I was breathing that stuff. I was raised on smog, but it has been over 30 years since I lived in it. By evening it was gone - there is still some haze today, but not near as bad.

One of my MI acquaintances now living in LA is going through a tough time. He�s been trying to follow his dream of being a professional actor (he is a good actor, singer, AND dancer), but after 5 years is questioning whether he�ll �make it� and how he can continue to support himself. He has real life survival issues, not waxing poetic about shiny palm leaves. If you get a chance, say hi at jim515 (see diaries at right) and leave a note of support.

On the veterinary front, work has been busy busy busy. This means more money for me, but I can barely keep up with my callbacks and the files on my desk continue to grow (we routinely call about all sick patients a few days after treatment). I'm going for 'balance, so won't stay there late every day (like I used to), so this is the price. The more urgent ones get done, and I�m learning to delegate the simpler ones. I see so many sweet pets during a week that they all blend together. I did have one day that was mostly about butts, however. Cracked me up. Especially the British client whose dog had �bum problems�. The owner was just delightful, but his dog�s anal glands were pretty messed up.

Overall, I�m still having an odd blissfest here in Palm Springs. A month ago I was feeling pretty dire about life, and now I�m in love with everything. I think it is the residual of thinking I would die at gunpoint the beginning of April (see "Stickup Sunday"). I especially love yoga, even the advanced workshop yesterday where I thought I would faint, because I feel so good an hour later. Sunday's regular class was easier than 2 weeks ago, so I�m making progress physically in addition to emotionally. This week it looks like I�ll work 6 days in a row - 2 of them � days, and one of them I�m doing (gulp) surgery. So, we�ll see if this happy thing continues and if I can make it to yoga while I�m in the trenches. (I keep waiting for my mood to crash, but so far so good.)

Last two nights I dreamt about my 2nd husband (with some features of my 1st husband) moving out of shared spaces. He had friends helping him move out of the spare room of my condo (he's never actually been here), and we were jointly clearing out some vacation residence (that we've never had). My first thought was that he's seeing someone, and/or about to. I remember the glow of early romance with him, and to think someone else may be experiencing the wonders of 'courtship Mike' is bittersweet. My second thought is that perhaps my hormone supplements are kicking in and it is me who is about to move on. Who knows - dreams are odd. For now, I'm happy being happy and wish him the same.

I�ve become a real zealot of appreciating the present moment, as per today's quote. Or, as one of my refrigerator magnets says 'How we spend our days is how we spend our lives'(Annie Dillard) - when combined with Janis Joplin's 'it's all just one long day', what more do you need to know?

6:46 p.m. - 2006-04-30
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo