abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Palm Springs Snow Scene

Woke up to snowcapped mountains today. They were covered in clouds yesterday, and this is the result. I can only see the lower mountain range from here. If I drive east towards Palm Desert, the entire range comes into view. Maybe I'll add a photo if I get out that way today. It never snowed down here on the flat, but we ended up at 43 degrees and rainy on Saturday night, which made me think I was back in Michigan. I could take the tram up the mountain and visit the snow in person, but I'm still not missing snow enough yet to make the effort.

My psychic/shaman's advice to force myself to get out of the house has apparently fallen on deaf ears. I am hermiting all the more whenever I have a day off. I have a ton of excuses for why I stay �safe� and inside. It is cold, I am exhausted, have a cough, feel fat for my clothes, don't want to get new clothes, have laundry to do, like to sit and hear the birds and look at the view - basically just don't want to go out. I talk intensively to 15-20 clients four days a week, plus my coworkers, and I feel used up when I have downtime. She said it would really help me feel better and more balanced to get out. So would working out at 5 am, but do I do that? Nope. I think sometimes I just rebel against taking care of myself. You'd think I'd be over that as I approach 50. Or perhaps all the changes over the past year have just overwhelmed my ability to take in new experiences for now, and I'm trying to catch up.

I did go to a consignment store on Sunday and it looked like a men�s chorus had recently adjourned - I have never been in such a huge crowd of gay men in my life. It was swish central, as they were trying to get retro pieces to match the 1950�s Sinatra style houses that are so popular. A group of four were picking apart a teak sideboard/console trying to figure out who the designer was. I just get what I like, such as a used red leather Ikea chair and a Buddha lamp that goes perfectly with the wedding present lampshade made by my sister-in-law in 1978. She is a nun and it seemed like a good combination, especially when the lamp is turned on and Buddha is truly enlightened.

Speaking of nuns, I went to the spa yesterday after a meager workout, and sat in the steam room with a couple of them from an eastern european country. They had some kind of headwear on even in the steam room, and gave each other massages. The gym I go to overlooks a resort pool, and during the day there is usually some entertainment value watching people parade around - especially the guys who check themselves out in the window (without knowing people are on eliptical trainers on the other side).

And, speaking of gay men, it is really odd to have the majority of men around me more feminine and well-groomed than I am. All the cleavage and heels and pink on women here makes sense - it is as if we're saying "hey, we're the girls here!!". I was standing in line at the local grocery store, and one of the guys ahead of me told his friends he always cries over Steel Magnolias. Well, I never cried over it. I did cry over Out of Africa, though, so I know it is possible. And the Lion King. Don't get me wrong, I dearly love gay men - great people, good friends - it is just odd to feel like such a dude around them (like their gender identity issues are contagious?). As for straight men, I did a yahoo personals search with my criteria and found 19 (not-so-hot) guys. Not that I'm dating, or even really interested, but am curious. I did the exact same criteria using Santa Rosa (Sonoma county) and got over 1000 guys (many of them hot). So, statistically speaking, once I'm interested in dating I'll have to emigrate north. I originally moved to Michigan to have more sex, so makes sense to move north if I want to date. (Or just get an outrageous tight pink wardrobe with cleavage and be a single eccentric old woman here in Palm Springs.)

9:14 a.m. - 2006-03-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo