abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Free Association Tuesday

It�s my day off, and I was 10 minutes late to a hair appointment, so they cancelled me. Hmmn. I decided to treat myself to a late lunch/early dinner instead.

I�m writing this in a pocket journal while sitting at a �California cuisine� outdoor restaurant along an artificial river. There is a surprising amout of water here in the desert. I prefer to think I'm sitting here alone because I�m doing reconnaissance for when someone visits � not because I don�t know anyone to go eat with around here. For some reason, writing in my journal makes me feel less conspicuous, as does wearing real dark sunglasses. The food is good, but the people and the setting are what draws my attention.

The afternoon sun is shimmering on the water, palm trees silhouetted against a blue sky, with barren hills as a backdrop - a typical perfect weather day where I get sunburned through my sunroof. There is a �business� meeting going on to my left � 2 men and a woman, the latter with dragon lady nails and post-modern Tammy Faye makeup, the men less dramatic. To my right, two thin, slightly ill-looking gay men, one who gives off a death vibe and is wearing designer clothes two sizes too large. They�re having lunch with a hot young Colombian hetero wearing red sneakers and a wedding band who makes me think yes I would go home with you.

There are retired or vacationing older couples, husbands with golf hats and wives with � length pants looking at the posted menu, acting a bit confused (probably looking for ribs & burgers) and moving on. Two couples sit down where the odd m�nage-e-trios was just minutes earlier. The older man has that kind of confidence that makes me miss Mike, and he sits down in the same seat that was formerly occupied by the ailing emaciated queen. My mind looks at him and thinks oh yes I�d go home with you too, which is odd because 99% of the time it is not anywhere near there and he is with his wife. (If I�m actually yearning for contact, I better start working out and not lounge about in the afternoon at a riverfront caf�!).

11:51 p.m. - 2006-01-24
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo