abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Memory of Pink Kudgo

This is a representative picture of 'Pink Kudjo' (see 1/12/06 and 1/21/06 entries). Kudjo was a 12 y/o patient with bad eyes and hostile attitude. She appeared to be healthy 11 days ago when she was vaccinated, but after a few days started vomiting and the elderly owner finally contacted us when she was vomiting blood. She came in today and opted for euthanasia rather than hospitalization because she couldn't medicate her as we had instructed ('I can barely take care of myself') and she couldn't afford for us to do so. She was sobbing while trying to sign the form, then as I took her dog to the back she looked at me with bleary eyes and said 'maybe you can make her better here'. Talk about heartwrenching. She really pushed my rescuer buttons, to the point that I made a housecall last Saturday (my day off) trying to help her.

Letting go is something I'm going to have to work on or I'm going to burst into flames before the year is out. Today included two more euthanasias, one was a beagle - my childhood dog, and the reason I got into this profession in the first place. Luckily, I also had some adorable puppy visits, and have Tuesday and Wednesday off to get myself re-charged.

I could dwell on the failures, and that would be consistent with my upbringing as well as my professional training. But overall I have a really good success rate and most clients have plenty of funds for treating their animals. We call all clients back who brought in sick animals, and they are so happy hear from a doctor, and it is good positive feedback for me to find out their pets are better. Of course, many would probably have gotten better on their own, but it is nice to feel like you may have helped. Especially on a day like today.

8:26 p.m. - 2006-01-22
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo