abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pus is Good

Now that I�m back living in a sunny area, my skin is unhappy. I, who grew up on the teenage wasteland of So. Cal beaches now needs to wear serious sunscreen and a hat? If not, I get rough red blistered skin. Almost as if I'm allergic to it or belatedly turning into a redhead. Plus, my skin is so dry, and it is only January � I don't want to think about what is going to happen in July with 100+ degree desert weather. This certainly wasn�t a problem in cloudy, humid Michigan. So sad, because I love to lie in the sun and recharge my batteries.

_______________________________

I�m starting to get the rhythm at work. I�m learning to schedule strategic non-appointment time and it really helps. I�m still getting all the weird last minute critical cases, but not freaking out as much.

Yesterday�s vet theme was again related to pus (aka 'purulent exudate'). The image for this entry was the result of a google search for pus - not quite what I had in mind, but I liked it. For those gentle readers of a squemish nature, you may want to skip on to the non-veterinarian front.

A cat I saw earlier this week had a mild clear eye discharge and wasn�t eating or drinking well. It looked like a viral upper respiratory disease, so we gave subcutaneous fluids and eye drops. It came back a day later and the eye was swollen and painful, so anti-inflammatories were added. Then, it came back and damn the eye looked like it was just going to pop out of its head. Tumor? Abcess behind the eye? Huge dental problem? Whatever it was needed surgery, so we gave it antibiotics, a more potent anti-inflammatory, plus a pain medication, and fit it in Friday's surgery schedule. While under anesthesia, two teeth were extracted and about an hour later, a large quantity of yellow-brown ooze started pouring out. Although it sounds gross, this was a good development - the main goal of pus is to purge something out of the body.

Personally, I like pus. Pus represents the remains of the first line of immune system soldiers (aka 'neutrophils') who died trying to defend the animal against a foreign invader. They are like pawns in chess, in that they can only do so much to hold the invader at bay until the more advanced pieces like bishops and queens (aka 'macrophages' and 'natural killer cells') come into play. (Yes, there really are cells that just flat out kill almost everything they find suspicious). Pus is a sign of the immune system doing its job. Also, when I sang with the MSU vet school's rock band, I did a solo on 'Pus' (based on ZZ Top's Tush).

______________________________

On the non-veterinarian front, my 1st husband�s 2nd wife is coming to visit in March. We've never met in person, only had phone and e:mail correspondence (both while they were married and after they got divorced). They had two children together, and he has since divorced his 3rd wife and is courting his 4th. I've enjoyed our long distance correspondence and look forward to meeting her in person. She lives in the rainy northwest and needs a sun break. For me, it is good to have visitors to make me stop and enjoy this winter resort paradise - otherwise it is work, work, tend my animals, and try to move in some more.

I finally sent back my 2nd ex-husband�s cell phone - for various reasons it took me awhile to get my own. I was contemplating my last entry where I mentioned missing him and realized part of what I miss is his strong, intelligent, confident energy. Especially while wearing a tool belt. Mmmm.

No, I don't have a 3rd ex-husband, and am not making plans for one at this time. However, while casually surfing Yahoo personals I stumbled upon a local guy who rides polo ponies for fun and wants a woman who is comfortable on a ranch (which would be me, btw). Although I'm on man sabbatical right now, my love of horses may spur me to check into 'Mr. Polo' at some time in the future.

I have tomorrow off, and may even get a facial for my poor crusty self, work out, and see an entertaining movie (like 'The Matador'). I was a good, efficient doctor today � even when they double-booked me � so I think I deserve a treat.


7:05 p.m. - 2006-01-28
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo