abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fire on the Mountain

This is what it looks like watching a mountain fire from my backyard. Note the faint outlines of trees, etc. I wonder if I need to start packing things, or if I am safe because half of Palm Springs would have to burn before it got to me. Another day in the life. More to follow . . .

Today was bizarre. My first appointment was a vicious dog with maggots on his back and crawling out his butt. Yep. We had to sedate him by injection through the gate in his carrier, then clip and clean him and medicate him. Later, I saw a 2 oz 2 week old kitten � what was I supposed to do with that? In the afternoon, I had a housecall with a very fat lady in a very small condo and an old dog with bad teeth and a bad back. I came back to the office to see a dog that had an infection almost drop dead from an antibiotic injection, and then upon x-ray found a major obstruction in her intestines. While I was dealing with that, I was covered in anal gland juice being expressed from across the room (yes, it is as horrible as it sounds). Then a young dog came in for a kennel cough shot and I found a big heart issue. The closing of the day was an old sick cat that would not die.

Surprisingly, I was not exhausted by all this. In fact, I found it entertaining. I�m on anti-seizure, anti-psychotic, anti-anxiety medications, and at times feel a little invincible. Oh, you have maggots and are vicious � how to deal with that? Oh, you�re obese and I can�t get around in your house? Oh, I�m covered in anal juice while talking on the phone to the intestinal obstruction owners? What a weird day.

And then, I�m walking Nelly after work and notice some smoke. I look up and shit the mountain is on fire. Just a small little ring. Why aren�t there helicopters and planes and someone putting it out before it grows? Of course I called 911 and they said �hello, 911, are you calling about the fire on the mountain?�. At present, I am upwind of the fire, but it is too close for comfort. And it is no longer a little ring, but five times as big and burning silently in the dark.

9:29 p.m. - 2008-04-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo