abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Conan the Barbarian

Many of you know that I have a fondness for black German shepherds. Nelly is my current one, and I had Raven for 10 years before her. I think I like them because they look like black wolves.

I first saw 'Conan' walking down the street near my clinic. He was a big black German shepherd. Large head and frame and cohones. As I usually do with strays, I called him to my car to check out his tags. I was in a hurry on my way back from lunch, so figured I could just load him up and house him at the clinic until his owners were located. He was very sweet and got into the car with a little whining, most likely due to arthritis. When I took him into the clinic, people thought I was with Nelly, only bigger.

Finding his owner was not as easy as I had thought. I contacted the Arizona vet clinic listed on his Rabies tag, where I found out he was nine years old and named Conan - but the phone number they had listed was not in service. I called information in Arizona, called Animal Control here, and sincerely hoped that I had not stumbled on a friend for Nelly. (I've usually had two shepherds at a time, and the hair is unbearable). I put an ad in the paper and made signs to post around the area, thinking that I would try to foster him until someone called.

At 6 pm, that someone came into the clinic asking if anyone had turned in a black German shepherd. Actually, it was her father's dog and she was watching him while dad was in the hospital.

I went home feeling good that I had helped an old handsome dog find his way back home.

The next day was a typical crazy Saturday at work. And, at closing time, someone ran into the back treatment area with a barely alive chihuahua. We tried to revive him to no avail. He had a bite mark on his head, but no other signs of injury. The owner said he was found lifeless with a bigger dog standing over him. I went in to tell the owner that her dog had died, and it was the same person who had picked up Conan. Yes, he was the bigger dog.

At times like this, I know for certain there is some kind of weird interconnectedness between everything. Or, else it is just a very small town.

5:54 p.m. - 2008-03-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo