abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tee Time

Some of you have asked about my relationship with HB. Yes, I am 51 years old and still have a boyfriend. At 54 he is not a �boy�, so perhaps he is a �friend�. I had a sexy great aunt who never married but had �friends�. HB first phoned me a year ago on New Years Eve, but we didn�t meet until a couple weeks later. We had a few dates (see 'Modern Love' 2/11/07 diary entry), then he had foot surgery, and the courtship slowed down to the speed of a guy on crutches.

As of August, we became a long distance relationship. He�s in LA (working on a movie) and I�m in Palm Springs, which is only 2 hours apart - but a 4 hour round trip is a bit too much for a dinner date. We miss each other. Our phone conversations have gone from 5 minutes to 45 minutes. From once a day to sometimes 3 times a day. It is a little awkward when we first get together after a week or two apart, but eventually we make up for lost time. I suspect that I love this man, and he loves me, but it has yet to be proclaimed. Maybe it never will be � I�m learning to read and appreciate actions more than words. And, he is getting better at words, so who knows.

The downside is that I am alone a lot and have made very few friends. How does a person do this? I see people I'd like to meet, but don�t know what to say without coming across feeling weird or needy. I had a couple friendships last year from yoga class, but they approached me, and they didn�t last long. This morning, I woke up with HB in LA - he went to work, and I had hoped to meet a Michigan friend for breakfast. It didn�t work out, which was disappointing, and again got me to thinking about friends. And how I wish I could just get together for a cup of tea with you who are reading this.

Well, OK. That's not going to happen anytime soon. So, I'm off to hit a bucket of golf balls, and wish you a pleasant Monday.

1:02 p.m. - 2008-01-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo