abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Firsts

- Jumped into my new pool. My fabulous gay painter wasn't there and I just ripped off my clothes and hit the deep end. Damnnnn it was goooood. Who knew having your own pool would be so friggin� cool? I even did some laps (but not while wearing chaps - yes these guys were in Palm Springs, my �home town�).

- Drank a beer. It was so hot it felt like the right thing to do before jumping into the pool. Last year the heat didn�t drive me to beer, but this year it has come early. I haven�t had beer in years.

- Was treated like a celebrity. I got into a full local restaurant for mom�s day brunch because the manager recognized my name and said �you�re the doctor who treats my cats, you�re wonderful, come in any time and I�ll put you at a great table". Plus, he took me on a tour of the kitchen, introduced me to everyone, and paid for our meals ($80). Mom was duly impressed.

- Got cussed out by my contractor. He made a number of mistakes lately, and when I nicely pointed them out (saying we were having communication problems) - he got royally pissed off. I told him that wasn�t appropriate, will talk to him when he isn�t so mad � then hung up. I'm concerned that some things will be delayed, but as vengeance, I�m being extra nice to the painter (who�s his friend).

- Accepted that HB is a nice guy who likes me and doesn't have dark ulterior motives. For me, being consistently treated kindly has been a suspicious activity. Truth is, he has given no indication that he plans to trample all over my heart then run back to Hollywood with evil glee and another notch on his Prada belt.

- Cancelled my personals service on match.com and yahoo. Seems like I met a decent guy and don�t have time for more right now. Not sure it will work out with HB in the long run, but we�re due for a big earthquake here so who knows how long our run will be anyway.

- Did a barium study on a 160 lb Great Dane. Well, in truth, the assistants had to heave him up and down off the x-ray table for 2+ hours. He was an incredibly sweet and patient boy who most likely had a gastro-intestinal obstruction. He got sent off to Orange County for emergency surgery � it was going to take a team of surgeons to straighten him out.

- Spent only 15 minutes at work on my day off following up on cases. Usually I get sucked into over an hour, but stayed hidden and just made some phone calls.

Not a first � I continue to enjoy the amazing weather (a dry 100 degrees with continuous sun feels really good), plus breathtaking views. The mountains in the background are like a cupped hand surrounding the valley, and the palm trees have become my friends (sounds like an odd John Denver or America song). There is a surreal, stark, and diverse beauty here that is definately growing on me.

9:21 p.m. - 2007-05-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo