abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soul Food

"Here, the local fortune teller took my hand and said 'What is still possible is inspired work, faithfulness to a few, and a last love, which, being last, will be like looking up and seeing the parachute turning into a shower of gold.'" (from the 'The Road from Here to There' by Galway Kinnell)

Aahh. That shocked me awake this morning. How lovely, I just had to share.

Last Sunday, I had lunch with a fellow yogi and the subject turned to poetry - she is a park ranger/poet. How could I forget something I love so much, something that makes me catch my breath, sigh, get teary-eyed, and feel like a smack on the forehead with a little crystal bell? How could poetry books just sit on the shelf and not be read a little bit every day? How could I forget the joy of working and reworking the writing of a poem?

For the same reason I live without making pottery, riding horses, watching live theater, spending time in my hammock reading, having a group of supportive friends, taking walks in the woods, watching the ocean, or simply doing yoga daily. All these things bring me a deep twinkling joy, but mostly I do what I need to get by -'surviving' as my dad would call it. That's what I've told myself it takes to start a demanding new career, a new chapter in life - the rest is 'for later'.

Feeding my soul with what makes it spark is like taking Nelly off-leash at the beach or dog park - she becomes ecstatically full of Nellydogness. This, I need to remember.

What makes you glad to be alive, deep inside - and are you able to do a little every day?

8:20 a.m. - 2006-08-09
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo