abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Funny Charming Genius

This is some of the positive feedback I�ve gotten from clients and my boss in the last 24 hours. Just thought I needed a happy entry.

An ancient pug with bad teeth needed an exam and I tried to look at it with limited success. I have no clue what I actually said, but indicated that the dog needed pain medication and possibly sedation before we could check out her mouth. The owner said I was funny. A couple times. I asked him what was funny and he said I was, and that the funniest people didn't know they were funny. Then he said he wanted some sedation, and added that I had beautiful eyes (which is a bit odd when it comes from a gay guy).

Tonight my boss told me that she and others have overheard me talking with clients and that I excel at it. I�ve been told I was �charming� since I was very young, using it to put others at ease in uncomfortable situations (sometimes at the cost of my own sense of self). These skills were fine-tuned during my years with the legislature, and are now especially useful when people wait 1� hours for x-rays and I assure them that their dog has been the entire focus of my assistant�s life for that whole time (you could just see the shift on her angry face). Since a lot of doctor/client issues come about when the doctor can�t communicate, I guess this is a good thing.

But I�d rather be a genius. And today I got a voicemail message from the owner of the decrepit, senile, skin-challenged poodle of the last entry saying �doctor, you are a genius�. IQ-wise, I have tested as a genius, but I usually don�t feel like one. The dog that I talked him out of putting to sleep last week is doing great - you could just hear the surprised pleasure in his voice. He was especially happy about my addressing the senility issues, but his dog has also stopped itching (and just looking at that dog made me itch).

OK, enough self-promotion for one night. Truth is, I have no TV, or patio furniture, or designer clothes, or social life, or sex drive or time to get any of the above - so as a Palm Springs resident am a bit behind the times. I do, however, have a clean house, a huge cold, meaningful work, and a full appointment schedule to keep me busy for 12 hours tomorrow.

9:32 p.m. - 2006-02-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo