abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Basic Needs

My new personal development program is as follows:

Get to bed by 10 pm, preferably 9 pm.

Looks pretty simple but makes a world of difference. I did it the past couple days and wow do I feel better. Prior to that, I was working four 12 hour days in a row with about 5 hours sleep per night. Unfortunately, I am a night person with a job that starts at 7:30 am - so better work at getting horizontal earlier. I've been struggling with exhaustion and now I know why. I'll see if this week's 4 day stint is better.

Today's vet theme was lumps. I saw about a dozen patients and four of them had lumps. Well, technically, one was an abcess - the cat looked like a one-sided chipmunk until we cleaned, drained, and flushed it - and it flew out all over my lab coat and shirt. I was doing the same thing as the guy above, but not near as neatly and the cat not near as compliantly. I know it sounds gross to get sprayed with blood and pus (that's what's in an abcess), but the cat probably felt better afterward, and I like that part.

The duck food arrived last week and I've been back at my stealth feedings. However, they are no longer simply clucking as I arrive - about 75 ducks are now waddling towards me en masse and making lots of noise. I'm beginning to look like the crazy bird lady in Mary Poppins. And these feedings aren't going to be stealth much longer if they keep this up!

7:53 p.m. - 2006-01-17
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo