abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drippy End Times

Yes, it does rain in California. The above is from today's Rose Parade, the first time it has rained on the parade in 55 years. I used to go to this with my dad as a kid. We would leave at 5 am and park on some back street and walk to the parade route. He would take a stepladder (which I still have) so I could stand on it to be as tall as everyone else.

And, the flood in Sonoma county and San Anselmo - two lovely places where I have wanted to live(but was not able to find a good job). The Russian River in Sonoma is known for being mercurial, but the creek in San Anselmo looked so very benign - I ate at an outside cafe overlooking it last spring. My friend Carol, who lives just south of San Anselmo in Mill Valley had torrential rain and her road blocked by downed trees and electrical wires.

Both of these 'disasters' have rattled me a little. So much of my life has been changed this past year, and now my little paradigm of the 'always beautiful' parade and the 'bucolic paradise' in No. Calif are both challenged. I know, fairly narcissistic - but I never claimed to be a bodhisattva. Just more fuel that the world is ending - or at least the world as I know it.

Yes, it is raining in the desert - first time in my 1 month here so I'm not complaining. There has been a gentle drizzle all day, as if the punch was knocked out of this storm as it went over the San Jacinto mountains. The houses here don't have raingutters, so I'm hearing water splash on the tile outside, which would be soothing except I keep thinking the shower is dripping.

8:40 p.m. - 2006-01-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo