abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome to Palm Springs

Welcome to my diary from Palm Springs, California! I've been here a week, but feel like I am continually arriving. Each morning amazes me. I�m starting this diary to record what starting this new life is like, and to hopefully be able to stay in touch with friends I�ve made (since I know very few people here). If I can figure it out, I�ll post pertinent photos along the way.

It looks like I escaped Michigan just before all the snow hit last week. I originally went there 20 years ago because as a native Californian I thought I was pretty flaky, and could develop some depth being in the Midwest (where people ate lunch and didn�t �do� lunch). Plus, my job and marriage crashed and I was in lust with a older man back there. It was supposed to be a maximum 5 year gig that lasted a lot longer. Yes, I think I got deeper, but that may just be age and would have happened anywhere. However, I think my core flakiness is not really going to go away, so I may as well move back to where it is accepted as the 'norm'. Plus, my job and marriage crashed in Michigan, so it seems only fitting to trek back home.

It certainly doesn�t look like Christmas here, in the traditional sense, but it is comforting and �normal� to me. Lights on palm trees, and snow painted on windows. If I want to see real snow I can go visit the top of the Palm Springs tramway. Today it was crystal blue sky, 75 degrees, just like yesterday. OK, enough about the weather. The other night I had mexican food and was serenaded by a guitarist singing 'I'm dreaming of a white Christmas' in Spanish. Like they have white Christmases in Mexico?

Observations so far:
- Most people here are from somewhere else, such as the Midwest or east coast. And they are happy to have a new addition to their area.
- Actually, most people seem inordinately happy, or are at least responsively happy when you talk with them.
- Today I found out that my banker, who is a charming branch manager with a diamond pinky ring, is also a drag queen. I just love that.
- Yesterday I saw a 1960 red Cadillac convertible with huge fins and white upholstery � it was as big as my living room
- Almost 1/2 of the used cars for sale are Mercedes, BMW, Lexus, Jaguar, or Infinitis. Back in the land where people wear their cars.
- Car salesmen are the same everywhere.
- Palm Desert (about 20 minutes away) is where most of the younger (under 60) heterosexuals seem to have run off to. They actually have a Pottery Barn down there, and other more familiar stores (like Pier One).
- Lots of plastic surgery here � I�m right at home.
- The gated community I�m in is just for show. The pedestrian gate is always open or you can just sit outside the gate and come in with someone else. I guess it just looks good.
- Cleavage is normal here - even among 40 year olds. I forgot I had any living in Michigan.
- The majority of people on bikes are homeless. And a lot of them wear Santa hats, which is disconcerting. They have great bikepaths here, tho, so I�m planning on riding once my stuff arrives.
- Guy holding sign at intersection in Indio last week �I need money for beer � OK, I�m just being honest�.

Upcoming entries � the trip across country in an RV with 5 pets and my ex-husband, and buying a car (hopefully soon!)


9:17 p.m. - 2005-12-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo