abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Remain Calm or Panic Slowly'

I am divorced as of today. Mike called and said our marriage 'died without a whimper as of 2 pm EST'. He went to court and said the bonds of matrimony were irreparable - or maybe he said I've fled to California with his cellphone. He sounded sad about it all, which surprises me since he didn't seem to have much time or interest in the marriage when it was happening. (I guess the old saying that you never know what you've got 'til it's gone is true.)

Also today, I figured out how to get my trash picked up. An elderly german neighbor named �root� aka Ruth told me how to do it. Magic. It is now gone.

By the way, I�m sleeping like a rock here. I love my new bed, courtesy of mama (she said she'd buy me one, so I picked out the $1,800 model). I�m having lots of dreams that I promptly forget.

Right now I'm sitting at a card table under a crystal chandelier in front of a mirrored wall. If I sit just so, it looks like I�m wearing a Vegas-style headdress. Yes, playing in front of the mirror may be considered a sign of mental illness.

Speaking of never knowing what you've got 'til its gone - like a comfortable place to sit. My stuff is due to arrive this Thursday. I think I may just break down and order the couch I fell in love with in Michigan and wait 12 weeks for its arrival. It is better and cheaper than anything else I've found here. In the interim I can use my futon couch.

And, in the better and cheaper department - I like my little rental car. Maybe I�ll just buy it from Enterprise. I looked at more cars today and was always relieved to go back into this little car. Very weird to never drive a GM product in Michigan, but consider buying one out in the land of imports.

Oh, and while I was test driving a Honda CRV today, we were re-routed through Sun City retirement village because the local bomb squad had intercepted a refrigerator truck with explosives. News at 11. Sun City is very lovely - so was the Honda, but both are a bit pricey.

What was I thinking getting a place with offwhite tile everywhere? I have a big black shedding dog and have to sweep daily.

For $162 I can get a massage at a local recommended resort. Man. I need to find somewhere else. Tomorrow is my search for a health food store and massage. Today I left a message with a possible hair colorist.

I'm reading my employee manual for my new job, which I'm going to for a couple hours tomorrow and Wednesday to see how things work before starting next week. It says that in case of emergency, REMAIN CALM or PANIC SLOWLY. I love it. Panic Slowly. This place has a huge amount of paperwork, but maybe that is California. You have to fill out a form with your SS number here just get the price on a car at a dealership.

Stopped at the local World Gym on my way home today and saw what seemed like hundreds of scantily clad buff gay men working out. Too odd for me for now - need to try another health club.

But I did get a local Hollywood Video membership, so am off to watch "March of the Penguins" on my laptop.

9:19 p.m. - 2005-12-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo