abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life Support

My newly purchased MSWord has locked up on me and I need to uninstall and reinstall, both of which are almost beyond this 50+ year old's capabilities. But perservere I will. This means I am writing - gasp - directly in Diaryland. I NEVER do this because even though it may not look like it, I edit and re-edit. But, I just wanted to say hi.

This week I was humbled to realize that it takes a small army to keep me afloat. I have gardeners who recently brought my backyard meadow in order, a pool man who comes biweekly to prevent it from becoming a swamp, a sprinkler repair company who keeps replacing valves so my desert-friendly plants stay alive, installers for my sun shades (which are very very energy efficient btw), and a housecleaning crew that every other week makes the indoors inhabitable. My therapist says I need to make a monthly budget so I don't feel compelled to work so hard to support these people. I'd rather go shopping or write in here.

But, the sun is free and constant here, I am surrounded by mountains, and have you heard me complain about the heat? No. I am becoming desert tolerant as long as it is under 110 degrees. Last summer we had 120 degree plus weather and even the most die-hard of locals were complaining. So far, it has been toasty but lovely.

And, I want to put into print that I am in love - for 2 weeks in a row. I suspect HB is also, but neither of us are saying anything. Last weekend, he spontaneously got in his car and drove 2 hours from L.A. to spend the night. And it has become clear that we 'get' each other (is that just a CA term? I remember it from est Training 20 years ago). He also admitted over breakfast that he had long term hopes for us, which was both comforting and frightening to hear.

OK, that's all the news fit to print for now. I'm off to see some short films at the International Palm Springs Short Film Festival. On my own. I saw some with HB Saturday night and just didn't get enough. Of films, that is. ;)


4:45 p.m. - 2007-08-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo