abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

About Sums It Up

Funky

The front page of the LA times covered a recent Los Angeles area mudslide after a 24 hour rain. The photo showed a mud-covered street with stalled SUV�s and a person walking across it all while wearing thongs, yoga gear, carrying a Chanel bag, and chatting on her cell phone. HB, a fellow LA native, didn�t find this odd at all, seemed pretty normal to him. I�ve been in the Midwest a long time.

Familiar (Not)

In truth, I feel very much like a tourist in �my� town. I marvel at oddities like two people together on cell phones, or a guy talking on two cell phones. I marvel at a policeman blaring his siren to pull over a middle aged woman in a Mercedes, the yoga studio on every block, the billboards everywhere promoting TV series or movies, the very fancy cars (which we also have here in Palm Springs), the sheer number of stores selling everything you could imagine, the �to protect and to serve� that is still on LAPD squad cars (remember Dragnet?). I need to get a small camera to carry with me; it is too hard to remember everything.

Filmmaking

On a recent visit to LA, I saw a movie in a lovely theater with HB and a �prop master� friend of his. What does a prop master do? Everything that is touched by an actor is considered a prop (including sheets, dishes, etc). There is some overlap with set decoration, which is what HB has done. The difference is that the prop master has to be there during all filming to be sure the props are reset for each take, whereas the set decorator makes decorating decisions, provides multiple props, and goes home after the crew implements his plan. I continue to marvel that there are hundreds of specialized jobs in making a movie. HB�s favorites are the Key Grips � apparently they can do everything and he would choose a Grip to be with him on a deserted island because they would figure out a way to get home (possibly with duct tape). People on the production side of the movie business refer to themselves as �carnies� (like the people who set up, run, tear down carnivals).

Friend (w/Benefits)?

I can�t really describe my relationship with HB, because I don�t know. He seems to know, but for me it changes after every visit. Part of being bipolar borderline is not having consistent feelings about anything. I had a nice visit in LA, so �this is nice, I�m in love�, then a lousy visit here so �this is not nice, this isn�t love� � rather than �hmmn, overall this is nice so lets see what develops�. Btw, I do my best to not let him know this is going on, which takes a lot of discipline. Irregardless, he is a good influence on me, helping put up towel bars, clear out my storage, get organized, and provide much-needed affection.

Fetish

Last weekend I went with my delightful gay neighbor to have sushi and we shared sex stories, including female ejaculation, being seduced while a passenger in a car, and debauchery at local gay resorts. The latter stunned me, and I�m fairly open-minded. There is a lot of sex outdoors, anonymous sex (such as putting your penis through a hole and some stranger gives oral sex), sexual contraptions to put yourself into, rampant drug use, etc. In these clubs, there is no safe sex because everyone is HIV positive so who cares. Wow.

Fat

The opening photo is a drill sergeant for the exercise boot camp I recently joined. I�ll be outdoors at a local high school football field 3 days a week while the sun comes up, doing suicide drills and jumping jacks and laps around the track and power yoga with much �hoorah'. I survived Monday�s class, and actually had a better workday. Even though I�m 10 lbs less than I was in Michigan, I have more to go. It is a one month commitment and I have new tennis shoes and hand weights so plan to stick it out.

On that note, 5:30 am comes early, so better get ready. Hope y�all are doing well. Drop me a line when you get a chance.


P.S. The fabulous weather has returned - I've survived another desert summer!

8:14 p.m. - 2007-10-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo