abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where the bleep have I been?

With my computer getting a new hard drive courtesy of the �Geek Squad� at Best Buy, I�ve been having such a writing �Jones� that I�m using a work computer after hours. I�ve only got one chance to transfer this to my diary, so bear with me � no photos or editing time.

It has been a helluva month. Besides not having a computer or Internet, I moved in a hurry and am still trying to unpack the miscellaneous �heaved into� boxes. I have yet to find my IPOD charger and just recently found the cord to my TV. I would have been more organized, but left the rented condo a day early and, well, I�m not very organized.

There are still lists of things that need to be done for my house, and I�ve gotten them in priority order. My hairless contractor and I had a falling out � he has anger management issues and, thanks to my last ex, I have zero tolerance for angry men. Once the main part of the job was over, he showed his true colors and our last interaction included me hanging up on him. So my friend Bob from Michigan (a level-headed guy who runs a property management company here) has guys finishing up miscellaneous items.

I live in such a lovely neighborhood in Palm Springs that it regularly takes my breath way (and not just from the heat). My neighbors are mostly full-time residents, there is mature landscaping with 60� palm trees, no overhead wires, no streetlights, no airport noise, no homeowners association with weird bush rules, no traffic, and the best view of the sun setting behind the mountains as I wash dishes. You can change a house, but not a neighborhood, and this neighborhood was worth changing a house to live in. Nelly is buddies with my next door neighbor�s dog Wiser, and they have play dates every other morning about 6 am. Yes, we go to bed and rise early here � too hot once the sun is fully up

Other exciting news besides moving into my house:

I got a CA driver�s license. Yes, I am now a registered voter and citizen of my home state. Ironically, my photo for the license looks significantly better than my Michigan license from 5 years ago when I was miserable, married, and in the Midwest (M3). I even got a little Paris Hilton head tilt in there. My only regret is that I didn�t wear a strapless top so that I looked naked on the license. I think that California (and plastic surgery) agrees with me. .

Speaking of naked, I�m spending time in the mornings and evening floating around my pool. It is so lovely to lay wet on my little float and watch the sky turn deep blue at night and then do yoga moves as the stars come out. Somedays I just wake up and walk into the deep end because I can.. If you�re going to live in Palm Springs, may as well immerse yourself in the lifestyle

Went to LA with HB and stayed at a �W� hotel in Westwood (next to Beverly Hills), which is a fancy place that he paid for with points on his credit card (did I mention he hasn�t worked in 8 months and split up with his wife who made the big money?). In spite of that, we shopped at some fun stores (he is a professional shopper), saw a movie at the Motion Picture Academy (they have their own theater and you must be a member to get in and they take their movies seriously � no popcorn, talking, watch all the credits and clap), ate good food, walked the Santa Monica pier at sunset in 70 degree weather, and had a lovely morning at the Getty museaum. Nice time, yet still no bells and whistles and romance. Sigh.

Which is unfortunate, because HB is a nice and sexy man that my therapist has declared �good for me� in that he isn�t into drama and angst and intensity. I have no idea how to be without that, but it is worth a try because it is fun in more ways than one (although that is the most fun part) and he�s a rare unmarried heterosexual my age around here. We seem to be getting closer and farther at the same time � he�s planning to move back to LA to work on his next film (the last one was Evan Almighty), so while I realize this may be short term, we�re also trying to see if we have something that is worth a longish distance relationship. So far the jury is out, and I�m just focusing on being present in the present.

Medication and therapy are helping, but sometimes I really miss my cushy state job in Michigan because being a veterinarian is so hard. Yes, I am following my dream, but I need more sleep. It was a favorable portent that the first client I saw on my first job declared me the best vet he had ever seen and would always ask for me. Today I saw clients that have a summer home in Marina Del Ray but are staying here in the desert in 115 degree weather so I can treat their dog with kidney failure. I told them to stay in Marina Del Ray and go to a great clinic I know of in nearby West. LA - they would do as well if not better than I would, but after knowing them for a week I am �their veterinarian� (most likely because I handle their demands fairly well). If I need further verification of my calling, I recently got a 100% �exceptional� rating from a �secret shopper� sent by corporate headquarters to check out our clinic. Working with Senators for a dozen years definitely honed my professional people skills - and now I�m doing something I care about (I�d rather do anal glands than work with assholes).

Although I try hard not to do this, I may end up owning a patient I recently saw � I have been considering a Standard Poodle as a non-shedding companion for Nelly. This patient is an 11 month old who possibly has an autoimmune disease. What a coincidence � same age that I got Nelly. She met him and didn�t try to attack him, which is a good sign for her. The owner is elderly and overwhelmed with her husband�s health needs and returned him to the breeder after having him for 9 months. He�s currently being monitored at a vet clinic near the breeder, and the owner wants me to have him. Even though I�m committed to thinning my herd, part of me really wants him. Standard Poodles are very smart, and this guy is also a real sweetie � plus good ones cost over $1k (both his parents were champions). I�d probably get him for free and Nelly would have a companion. She misses Lola, and spends too much time alone.

Still having great phone with Daniel - more deep and honest than with HB. He�s starting to feel like a good friend that I can confide in. He�s 59, �retired from relationships�, and a burned-out veterinarian with a wonderful acerbic wit and black eyes you can get lost in. We get together for a chaste meal and drinks every couple weeks, and at our last visit he admitted that he wouldn�t mind if HB and I broke up. Hmmn, I thought he was retired. I recently saw �You Kill Me� (good movie) and Daniel looks a lot like Ben Kingsley would with black/grey hair in a ponytail and with a goatee.

The coolest temp in the new house is my �office�, which has double doors to the living room and stereo. Yes, another portent that perhaps I should also be a writer as well as a veterinarian who needs more sleep. Goodnight faithful readers, I�ll be back online soon.

6:54 a.m. - 2007-07-18
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo