abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More of the Same

When I was around 8 years old, I jumped off the roof of my house with an umbrella. I was undoubtedly inspired by Mary Poppins, and, much to my dismay I landed with a thud.

That is sort of how I feel right now, having become a veterinarian late in life, moving back to my home state of California, and in general taking a great leap from being a comfortable midwestern married government worker to the single entrepreneurial lifestyle (entrepreneurial in that I am paid based on how busy I am).

Today I worked 12 hours whereas I would have worked 8 as a state worker for the same money. OK, maybe I�m whining a little, but would you walk into your regular doctor�s office and want to have a consultation without an appointment? A survey showed that veterinarians were among the most trusted of professions, but that doesn�t mean we are doormats. In addition to the walk-ins, today included three ultrasound appointments and two serious hospitalized cases, all five of which were discharged to go home in the afternoon in addition to my regular appointments. To translate in laymen�s terms, I had twice my normal afternoon appointments without being scheduled for them. And, this meant the files piled up on my desk like crazy for messages, etc, so I was there until 8 pm.

Also on my desk were some lovely flowers from HB. He is trying, and is a sweet guy of whom I am very fond. I keep hoping we will be as compatible vertically as we are horizontally, and have slowed down in an attempt to make them both match better. This is a different kind of relationship because we are mostly about making each other happy and being kind, not about angst and soul connection and meaning.

My leap into homeownership continues to be a challenge (and probably will be for months). The kitchen counter people are coming on a day that neither I nor my contractor can be there so I have to reschedule. Since I need to be living there this time next month, any delay is hard. My bathtub and tile will be finished next week, as will the pool, so hopefully the most destructive and disruptive stuff will be out of the way and I can start moving in. Every time I go there, I like it more, which is a good sign. It is becoming less a haunted house, and more my home. I made some bold decisions with tile and cabinets and am happy with the results. Yes, I am dating a professional decorator, but am doing OK on my own so far.

The big news here in Palm Springs, CA - it briefly rained today, and there is snow on the nearby San Jacinto mountains. This morning they were sheathed in fantastical fluffy pink clouds complete with rainbow and bright blue sky above, and tonight they were covered in snow. We had two power outtages at work today because of the wind, and right now it feels like it going to blow my condo down. Dangerous day for umbrella flying.

But the real question is, what the heck happened to my elbows? While I wasn�t looking, they became full of extra saggy skin. I�m getting old and dried up in spite of my hormone therapy, daily exfoliation, and moisturizers. I'll be 51 next month - and I hear a distinct thud in the background.

9:00 p.m. - 2007-03-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo