abigail414's diaryland diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time Out

What has happened in this past week, besides reaching the therapeutic dose on my bipolar meds?

I worked like a maniac on Monday, Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday. The pet food recall has everyone coming in for blood and urine testing, on top of our normal load. We fit them in. I haven�t had any bad test results, but I did have an immense number of animals the past month or so with kidney failure, diarrhea, urinary crystals � and we will probably get those owners wanting documentation of their records if they fed those foods and want to sue someone. Our policy is to not go back and ask people what they fed, but to ask everyone who comes in what food they use. There is a HUGE list of foods, including some of what I was feeding my own pets - they loved that tasty rat poison. I always suspected commercial foods were bad, and now we know for sure. It is a major tragedy and makes me want to go back to home cooking. Luckily, the two brands I regularly recommended to clients (Royal Canin and Canidae) weren�t on the list.

There have been some interesting cases at work, including a german shepherd puppy with Parvo that turned around with a day of intensive care. Also, the Chihuahua from the previous entry �Heart of Stone� made it through Parvo. I�m becoming pretty comfortable with that deadly disease. We had 4 dead on arrivals today � including two that I saw (a cat with a ruptured bladder and a dog in congestive heart failure). Earlier in the week, I saw a cat that had been electrocuted (whose owner kept saying �my boyfriend the doctor�), a cocker spaniel with bone cancer, and a dachshund that was fine last month and now appeared to have a liver mass. I have such an incredibly exhausting job that I don�t know how I�ve attempted to have a relationship and house re-hab at the same time.

On Wednesday and Thursday, HB and I went to Phoenix for spring training (saw a Cubs game) and then hit the above fabulously beautiful 5 diamond hotel (The Phoenician) for a romantic getaway. It was the kind of setting where you ought to walk into the room and ravish your partner, because hotel sex is the absolute best and we have had great chemistry. The bedding was very fine and view incredible - but we were so exhausted and distracted and even though it was a pleasant stay, there was no ravishing and so we had an �argument� on the way home. I say that in quotes, because compared to arguments with my last ex (which usually included him yelling �fuck you� and �go away�), it was mild - but to HB it was traumatic because he is a sensitive guy and easily flummoxed. Both our lives are very full with other things - mine is work, and house, and self-maintenance and his is recovering from his surgery, dealing with his house sale in LA, his ex-wife, his career, ex-wannabe girlfriends, and other assorted female 'friends'. So we�re taking a couple days off to figure it out. It was his idea at first and I could barely stand it, but on the stern advice of my girlfriend Randy, I decided that I also needed time off and when HB said �OK, let�s get together and talk� I said �well, I think you were right to want to take time off�. Again blew his mind because now he is missing me terribly and wants to work it out.

And yes, I needed time off! I�ve used it to deal with my house (now my empty pool is full of dark-skinned foreigners swathed in white and wearing gas masks and goggles and wielding jackhammers), organize my condo, go out to dinner with a girlfriend, and also to a play (the Full Monty) with another girlfriend. I may start a hip hop dance class Monday nights, which sounds fab. These activities are what I wanted a �partner� for, but he�s in a cast and on crutches, so instead we are pretty sedentary or horizontal. I�ll try to be kind and gentle when we talk today (which those who know me will understand is hard) but at this point, I�m not optimistic. Perhaps we could just be lovers on a weekly basis (our HIV tests finally came back negative) and leave the whole enchilada for another time, if ever. Right now I think I can only handle some guacamole and chips on the side. The rest is too heavy.

9:04 a.m. - 2007-03-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jim515
tealeaf5
hulamoons
cariboutwo